20 democrats stay in legislature amid mixed opinion poll

Most pro-democracy legislators including representatives from Democratic Party, Civic Party and leading figures such as Fernando Cheung, Claudia Mo and Shiu Ka-chun said on Tuesday (Sept 29) that they have decided to stay in the extended Legco for the coming year.

That came after the poll result by Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute, commissioned by the Democratic Party, that aimed to seek the public opinion if the pro-democracy legislators should stay for the extra year out of their four-year term after the Legco election was postponed for one year.

None of the two sides won a majority, with 47.1 per cent of the 738 respondents supported the legislators to stay while 45.8 per cent opposed them to serve for another year.

Civic Party Tanya Chan would not stay due to health reason and at the same time announced to leave Civic Party. Chan, with tears and broken voice, said in a separated press conference that she wants to take more rest and spend more time with her mother.

Leung Yiu-chung of the Neighbourhood and Worker’s Service Centre said he would follow the majority. Professional Guild members including Kenneth Leung, Joseph Lee, Charles Mok and Ip Kin-yuen will also stay and “commit to fight for justice“.

Civic Passion Cheng Chung-tai said he would leave if the legislators decided to leave, but because of the splited decisions in the pro-democracy camp, he would stay and “try his utmost for voters who share the same vision".

Overall, out of the 23 legislators in the pro-democracy camp, only Eddie Chu, Raymond Chan and Tanya Chan will leave. Despite the 20 staying legislators, the veto power of the minority one-third voting will be lost.


【議會去留】民調出爐 正反意見皆不過半 20 名民主派留任 陳淑莊離任並退出公民黨